Right People at Wrong Places?

It was quarter to midnight. We had our dinner in Pizza Hut, Hiranandani Gardens, Powai.

I felt both yummy and greedy when Ketan floated the idea about trying some new flavours at Naturals Ice Cream Parlour. And so, both of us decided to go for it, even though we had quite a lot of work in the lab.

The parlour was just a 10 minutes walk. We had just crossed the Galeria building, when suddenly, a lady’s voice called Ketan’s name from somewhere behind:

Ketu… hai… Ketu….

When we turned our heads towards the direction of the sound, we could see a group of young guys and gals discussing with each other, and one of them, a short, lanky, girl with a big nose pin, dressed in a pair of shorts and tees came out…

Shy as he is by nature, Ketan could not understand how to react…. Moreover, my presence made him slightly uncomfortable. Before he could say anything, she had already started talking and had extended her hand for a warm handshake. I could guess, that Ketan wanted to avoid, and make that meeting a quick affair, but could not. Instead, gave his mobile number, and promised her a treat some other day πŸ™‚ It took some 15 minutes for him to convince her that he was busy today and finally to say “good night” to her. We had to rush, as it was past midnight. Unfortunately, could not get ice cream as the shop was closed by that time.

By the time, I could observe that and Ketan was still in that mid-night (shock) meeting. I casually inquired…

What happens boss? What is the matter… ?

“Nothing, it is just paining”

“What? What is paining?”

“My palm is paining… Mala scratched my palm with her long nails… could not say any thing to her..” 😦 πŸ™‚

Oh! that is interesting” — I just made this comment with a smile…

I could see that Ketan was feeling bit restless, but I could not figure out whether his restlessness was because of his meeting this girl at a wrong time and wrong place? or because of the scratching and the pain πŸ™‚

It did not take much time to figure out … “it was his meeting her at a wrong place, at a wrong time and in my presence”, which was the cause of his restlessness. Afterwards, he made several stories, and has been clarifying since … that “she is just a school mate of mine, had never spoken to her before, just a friend… blah blah…”; trying to convince me and lab mates… πŸ™‚

This is not only the story of Ketan… In my last 7 years of campus life, I have witnessed at least some hundred different incidents.

Interestingly, most of them were at night, between 12.30 am to 4.30 am. I could remember meeting Boni with his “friend” at about 4.20 am on a rainy night (morning?) while going to the station to get the early morning local train to Khopoli. Both of them were standing, under a tree in the main road, completely drenched in the rain… I was in a hurry, just said “Hi” and went on my way. Poor Boni called me at least some 4 times on that day… with different reasons… just to know, what was my reaction…!!

Another such incident happened, while I was returning to my room from lab at about 2.30 am. I saw Nutan going towards lake side at that time of the night with her new friend. I was in half sleep, was about to rummage my cycle into them. I thought it was my mistake and was about to say sorry, but they just vanished in no time.

Next day, Nutan called a friend of mine and invited her for a dinner treat at Laxmi. Though my friend could not understand the reason of her sudden invitation, she could smell some thing fussy during the dinner. Nutan inquired many things about me from my friend, and finally asked, “did aamjunta say anything to you?” It was just a bouncer for my friend. Realizing that my friend does not know any thing about the last night’s incident, Nutan changed the topic in no time.

On a different note, I could remember when Suryapratap narrated the story of Nidhi and Mohan. Both of them were in their initial days of love, used to go for dinners, movies, malls; but when some of our friends saw them or spotted them, they used to behave as if they are just strangers…

Once during my graduation days, I was on a vacation with my family to Koraput (Odisha). While getting down from the bus at a hill station near Koraput, I saw Radha and Sid waiting there for a Bus. Before I could go closer and say a “hi” to them, they just vanished from the place, reason… they had bunked classes and had come to this place without any one’s knowledge. Embarrassing for me, because they did not acknowledge, and my parents were asking…“is there any thing wrong between you and Sid?” Why did he leave without saying a Hi to you? Embarrassing for Sid as well… for obvious reasons.. I had no other way out but to convince my parents, that he was not Sid, but some one else….

That happens πŸ™‚

People behave interestingly when they meet some one at a wrong time and wrong place. Moreover, our cultural and societal restraints make us slightly conscious when we are in the initial days of “dating” — though I still do not understand the full-implications of the term. πŸ™‚

Being discreet about relationships is common — me, you, the politicians, celebrities, and the aamjunta. The answering patterns are common… “we are just friends”, “it was a courtesy visit”, “we are family friends”, etc., etc. Celebrities use these tactics very coolly for the camera and paparazzi and so does the aamjunta. But, paparazzi exists in all societies and these statements are sometimes forgiveable because after all there is something called : “privacy” ! πŸ™‚

Aamjunta, have you experienced any thing of this kind?

Disclaimer: All names used in this post are fictionalized. However, the incidents described are inspired from real-life stories.

12 Responses

  1. This is not fair aamjunta…now it seems like there is a spy camera with you. Bhago! This post is hilarious but it reminds me of a certain FIP in another blog and his recording of ‘nocturnal visits’ of cricketers. Btw, why r always the ‘khas’ people victimzed by aamjunta? has aamjunta ever been caught by paparazzi? we are also interested in your observation on yourself, not just on the poor ‘junta’ … πŸ™‚

    the mangoes are fine but we are also interested to know the story of the mali (man) πŸ˜‰

  2. Thanks Anne for your comment. As I said before, “all names used in this post are fictionalized. However, the incidents described are inspired from real-life stories”. One of these stories can be my own self too πŸ™‚

    It is my observation of people in many years. Why are you excluding me from “aamjunta”? I can certainly be a character in any of my posts.

  3. Whose privacy you are talking about? Some people made it public deliberately, for some other reason πŸ™‚

    Nice post. By the way, I was also caught by you aamjunta at a wrong place at a wrong time πŸ™‚ Will not disclose more for privacy.

  4. Nice to here a privacy topic…But the common nature depends, if something happens unusual..

    caught by aamjunta at a wrong place at a wrong time for any matter always makes a scene to change the scenario. Which is a common nature of mankind..So that happened in all of the above cases…

  5. Ha ha .. this story is very funny .. πŸ˜‰
    I did learn a lot from it though πŸ™‚

  6. hello aamjunta.. hope u are enjoying a hell lot of your private life after a successful phD!! πŸ™‚
    very nice story…and we are really addicted to your blog! no time for girls here!!
    [:)]

  7. hehehe…nice one.. i hv also experience few such incidents (me not being the victim).

  8. The post is interesting, but I would really like to know feeling ashamed of being with your girlfriend is a mere β€œapprehension of being a taken as a committed relationship or to escape from annoying rumors”.

    However I personally never had this kind of experience in my life; but I have seen my friends who have been their with their girlfriend used to react very coolly, by introducing themselves, but I have observed very keenly that themselves are very skeptic about the longevity of the relationship, till then they don’t mind in introducing themselves.

    Then at this specific case is it the matter of β€œmodern culture” that plays an important role- that they are not bothered whoever it is by showcasing their relationship or is it due to the β€œabsolute timidity about the relationship which may broke at any point of time” that makes them runaway from introducing.

    β€œI really feel surprised that till today people feel afraid in disclosing their relationship”.

    I would like to know the view of aamjunta in this???

  9. Cant stop laughing. Interesting stories potentially can bring many 3-idiots πŸ™‚

  10. Well, ketan married to mala last year πŸ™‚ not sure about the fate of all others.

  11. He he, wrong place and wrong time indeed! I guess even I have behaved like that quite a few times, felt embarrassed about literally nothing only to realize that it was all in my head and no one really bothered much about it. It took a while for me not to bother much about it πŸ˜€ ..

    Nice share, and a very very nice story to relate to πŸ™‚

    Cheers,
    V+

  12. this is a different post from you πŸ™‚ I have a had a pretty routine life i guess…when i hear all these incidents you have described. nope…have not encountered even one!! 😦 but wrong place at the wrong time can be in several contexts and i have seen such instances happen πŸ™‚ nice post! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment