A Psychiatric Fallout !!

Under the new Budget in India, the price of aerated drinks (water with sugar content) has been hiked up by 5 percent, making soft drinks and sugary juices costlier.

1

Health experts are hopeful that this financial step shall help reduce sugar consumption and thus check obesity, diabetes, cancer, heart diseases and dental decay – a theory many countries have begun to acknowledge but brands still profusely dispute !

Interestingly, last year I had a terrible dream : after the last gluttonous sip of a soft drink, I “saw” myself discovering active maggots at the bottom of the glass – and that was the end of all sugary relishes 🙂 !!!

Next morning, as soon as I woke up, I threw the remaining bottles out of the refrigerator. We do not buy any soft drink or ice-creams unless a guest arrives and indicates a desire for it.

Now howsoever thirsty, we prefer plain water. And since then, if we really need to have a soft drink as an accompaniment, only fresh home-made sugarless nimbu paani zindabaad (hail lemonade) ; thus goes our newly chosen flavour with spicy Biryanis and Pizzas as well 🙂 !

For the same “visual pothers” of my dream 🙂 , we have ditched other sugar-containing items and drastically reduced quantities of sweets or amount of sugar in every possible ‘prepared’ item, howsoever attractive – jalebis, chocolates, pastries, ice-creams, tea, corn flakes, milk shakes, cookies, smoothies, cakes, pan cakes, porridges, etc.

2

4

Luckily, my husband volunteered to “share” the psychiatric fallout of my dream 🙂 ! So that has now led us to limit our daily sugar consumption to even less than six teaspoons as recently set by the World Health Organization. Normally, I take only one teaspoon – in my morning cup of tea which I definitely require to stir up my day.

Well… my father (who is also a Doctor), tried for years to make me get rid of soft drinks; so he has been very thankful to God for blessing me with that thoroughly health-effective dream 🙂 !!… Now his other routine insistences are about regular exercises (particularly Yoga), a 20-minute exposure to the morning rays of the Sun and having maximally green diets along with natural anti-oxidants. My husband has sincerely met almost all these expectations, whether of his father-in-law or his Family Physician 🙂 , and of late, I am trying hard to partner him in it.

I suppose all health advices, increasing prices or taxes and making rules in these dietary matters aren’t going to help for long… So I wish that my folks who sincerely intend to get rid of aerated drinks and non-intrinsic forms of sugar, also “see” such a loathsome dream 😉 !!! Perhaps, there is no other way by which someone like me can be more motivated firstly, to quit all those unhealthy molecules feeding potential cancerous cells and secondly, to maintain sustainability at it 🙂 !

 

8 Responses

  1. Very true. Both the soft and hard drinks are really dangerous for our health, especially in India. Based on our culture and climatic condition (and health of course) I think Indian version of soft drinks (neembu pani or ruabzaa.) should be used. Better follow our wisdom not the western world.

  2. Happy to know that our aamjunta-da has got a good life partner. God bless.

    A good message for the young juntas..

  3. The new govt is very conscious about our health.

  4. well, we are building a pub culture here. so coca cola and pepsi and others will definitely rule along with foreign liquor bands. if you oppose, you will be criticized, if you do not oppose then you cannot see the ruins of the society.

    a deeper level of understanding is required. good that you started.

  5. I share your psychiatric views…. 🙂

  6. a very ‘health-effective fallout’ indeed.. 🙂

    may be, its not just about affordability but also the pub culture as some readers have already pointed out… I rem’ber a friend of mine who after returning to India, was under strict constraints of her family /society w.r.t. having hard drinks.. so she opted for Coca cola or Pepsi, almost 500ml daily!!!

  7. Its a welcome move, I love aerated drinks and am just not able to stop. At least this might make me think twice.

  8. Thank you, all.. I agree that despite access to medical information, ‘pricing’ and ‘change in lifestyle’, both matter a lot in this regard !

    @ Athenas Take: what would be precisely discouraging factor(s)- only increase in price or also the possibility of finding maggots in sugary stuff ?! 🙂

Leave a comment