Shadows of Height (Reflections: Part-III)

In a qualifying round of a beauty pageant, on being asked about the adequate height of a woman, a contestant had famously responded thus – ‘The height of a woman should be sufficient to reach her father’s mind and her husband’s heart’ !

I am not certain if it was her original answer or a quote… but it was indeed, all beauty and brains. 🙂

Now here’s my reflection on height, in general, which I gathered over the weekend during which I was advised to take a small rest.

Heights can be a blessing or a curse !

Once we are into this world, then to consider height either as a blessing or a curse, first we must understand two aspects. “Physical” height that depends on our physical environment and situations, and “abstract” height that depends on our ambitions and social status.

First aspect is pretty obvious. To briefly explain the second aspect, here is one quick example- “abstract” height is a blessing when a rich person gets anything he/she desires and when a common man has nothing to lose; it is a curse when a tall figure in the society has to search a niche to hide when badly blamed for something and a common man trying to reach for the stars bears lot of obstacles, even undue ones.

My experiences (situational) with my average Indian female “physical” height has been interesting.

Blessings : always invited to the front rows in an audience or photoshoot; having played a mischief in childhood, managing to hide in the dark shelter under the ever-protecting cot :-); getting the maximum options to shield myself during a hide-and-seek game; drawing kindness or mercy of elders during hard physical assignments or punishments; saving on length of cloth and cot :-); easily treading paths and sort of crouching myself in places where others can’t even imagine; etc.

Curses : unable to pluck mangoes or steal Grandma’s pickles single-handedly, which implied prompt sharing :); sitting in the front-rows in a very disciplined school- totally devoid of participation in pranks and fun :-); usually being the first one to face a question from the Teacher; being the first one to be called for running small errands; getting awfully suffocated in any crowd; unable to well-exhibit flowing gowns, Anarkalis and Sambalpuris /Kanjeevarams /crisp Hand-loom apparels; difficulty in playing certain sports; requiring block-heel sandals for lending pose and poise typical of certain outfits and match-fixing (shaadi) purposes :-); etc.

My latest story follows.

Last mid-week, in a big solo cleaning-drive, I had over-stretched to dust corners of the walls, curtain-holders, unused dabbas (containers) in top shelves, to oil far-fixed hinges, to rearrange books, and once had to manually wash-off pigeon droppings from the huge drying bed-sheet. Yes, manually because I did not want my washing-machine to be deprived of its pavitrataa (sanctity) ! 🙂

Nateeja (consequence) : my ribs had to bear wear and tear (not fracture) of some binding tissues… I woke up with excruciating pain one morning, unable to turn sideways or simply lift my hands !! The episode lasted 2-3 days with mild fever now and then, as my body struggled to apply a patch on the tissues by virtue of its natural defence.

I got relief with the Doctor’s anti-biotics and a few pain-killers; and now continuing with extra dosages of vitamins to speed up the recovery. And for the unfeatured but gracious part in this episode, my generous husband played the motherly role of also managing the kitchen amidst his busy schedule ! …… Ohh ! And whhaaat – appreciation for my solo cleaning-drive ? Could I have asked him more ? 🙂

But the first realization of the pain due to my unweighed attempts in rendering a shine-bright look to the household, was indeed dreadful – it pierced right through my heart, giving me jitters of a typical early morning heart-attack !!!!

Hmmmn… here too, same lesson of life learnt: there are odds in life but unless we practice things regularly, stars- whether big or small, cannot be well-achieved. I say ‘well’ because after we achieve it, we or/and our kith and kin should also be in a position to preserve it good. And fruits of at least some labour are definitely to be dreamt and cherished by us too- the sole or solo performers like me in this case :-), unlike inherent preachings of the great Karma Yoga !!

toh phir kad ho ya kaddu, kuch cheezein “haule-haule” hii sahi hote hain (so whether its height or achievement, certain things prove right or form well only gradually)…

Aamjunta – what do you say?

9 Responses

  1. Wow:) So you mean to say heights have curse and blessings also! The famous Amitabh Bachhan song reminds me – jish ki bibi lambi uska bhi bada naam hai, jish ki bibi choti uska bhi bada naam hai 🙂

  2. Different taste 🙂 Really this post is a true reflection of our society.

    One thing I just wanted to mention here is the height of the girl – do you think it is ncessary that groom’s height should be higher than that of the bride? I do not agree to this, but many in society may not agree to me. Height should not be an issue for marriage or love.

    And wish speedy recovery from the wear and tear 🙂

  3. Well said. Height indeed is an issue physically and in abstract sense. Infact the abstract point is more relevant here.

  4. i too am reminded of Amitabh Bachchan’s famous song..”Jiski biwi lambi uska bhi badaa naam hai!” Good one!

  5. Corrrreeeecccttttt…. My height is 5′ 6” and it was tough for me to get a groom. And finally married to my SH who is shorter than me just by 2” 🙂

    By the way, I like your abstract sense very much. It has a lot of meaning. Nice one.

    @aamjunta – if my observations are right then this post and many other posts are shaadi ke side effects 🙂 – in a positive sense ofcourse.

  6. Both the physical and the abstract heights are of importance. The abstract height brings you maturity once you enter into the higher heights of your life. Nice.

  7. Nice one. Thank you.

  8. Good one. Height is a big issue. In odia we say denga mundare thenga. That is some how related to Abstract height.

  9. Excellent work. You should publish more these kinds of blogposts. Your are great at publishing.

Leave a Reply

