Ripples of a Summer Night (Reflections: Part-II)

How I so much miss sleeping on a jute cot under the calm, starry nights,

Dark yet holding the promises of a thousand dreams !

Wisps of clouds drifting here and there as if to fulfil some wish of the Lord;

On some days, the radiant Moon occasionally peeping to say ‘I am here’.

The myriad and entrancing Madhumalatis adorning the green alleys like glossy locks of a lovely lass,

In the merry mist, moistening the shiny white bed linens and my gamey tender toes.

The melodious Nightingale enthralling a dozen breezy hearts

Amidst yet another captivating flute notes of the ever vigilant night-watchman.

Bit by bit, the celestial shade giving way to the soot of the earthen lamps;

The flames of which mustered to brace against sporadic gusts

Scurrying through the rustle of dry leaves and stacks of hay,

Momently creating an eerie of a hiss to baffle the midnight trespasser at bay !

The only other mystery of the unceasing night – the mewing cat and the squeaking rat fight,

Quite refereed by the croaking frogs beside the perpetual well and the elusive lizards around;

And much to the seeming delight of the lightning bugs in the bushes.

The cattle resting in their sheds, masticating on residual grass and fodder of the day,

Sometimes thudding their hooves to drive the whining mosquitoes away;

The dog with its belly rotund with warm country-bread, now sat wagging its tail;

Keeping an eye out on the green glare of some small, pawed intruder perched on the swaying branches,

Beneath which its master unwinded from the tiredness of a long, hot day !

As my wise grandma charmed me with nearly fifty tales of the mind and the soul,

I followed it with occasional turns on the left and turns on the right, done with my queer might;

Then came along a pat here and a pat there,

And with a treasure of hugs and solace on my forehead;

Led by promises of a new day, as alluring as the umpteen sun-baked, sweet mango pancakes,

I was lulled into honey summer-slumbers ringed by a mother’s eternal love.

2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

– Dedicated to all my Readers on the 6th “happy birthday” of Aamjunta ! πŸ™‚

17 Responses

  1. Six years!!!! Great. Keep writing and God bless you.

    Superb Poem πŸ™‚

  2. Cool… You just took me to my village days. Truely heart touching.

    Congratulations Aamjunta for continuous writing for six years. I still remember your very fast post. Great journey. Happy B-Day πŸ™‚

  3. Happy B’day, AJ.
    And yes, nice poem.

  4. Congratulations on completing six years! Here’s wishing you many more πŸ™‚ Well written poem!

  5. SIX years !!! that’s great..congrats and many happy returns… πŸ™‚

  6. I have been reading your posts for the last 5 years. I must say here I enjoy a lot by reading your posts. Not only that, I also get educated by many of your posts. Thanks for that. And congrats for completing six years. All the best for future posts as well.

    And this post is unique – a poem that too I guess, the first one by AJ. Very well written. enjoyed πŸ™‚

  7. Wow !! suno, suno..now a poem by our AJ – ‘Shaadi ke Side Effects’ ?! πŸ™‚

    Stay Blessed…Best Wishes.

  8. Cool in summer πŸ™‚ superb one.

    And 6 years – kudos aamjunta. Hope to see you more and more. The anonymity is actually great. My respect towards you gets doubled due to this.

  9. Loved rreading this poem. Liked very much and the rythimic meaning of it. Really very well written.

    “I was lulled into honey summer-slumbers ringed by a mother’s eternal love” – very true.

  10. Hi,

    God bless you. This is a beautiful poem and I really liked this one. Emotional one off course.

    Thanks,

    Isac

  11. I was looking for some cool after the election heat and I am happy to say that this poem made my day. Beautiful. Thanks.

  12. all the very best and congratulations!!! on 6 years πŸ™‚ and a lovely poem πŸ™‚

  13. beautiful one like the colourful Madhumalaties.

  14. No words. The earthen lamp analogy is great.

  15. It is like chanda mama so gaya πŸ™‚ but you could manage to wake him up and he says. -. I’m here πŸ™‚

  16. Very matured writing. Good read a nice poem during election heat πŸ™‚

  17. Sweet memories and lovely poem.

Leave a Reply

